HELP
 / 
Integrations
 / 
Integration with Google Drive

Integration with Google Drive

This is some text inside of a div block.

We can connect our Clappia apps to Google Drive so that all submissions get synced to Google Sheets and all images and files get synced to Google Drive in real-time. The connected Google Drive gets updated on the following events:

1. New Submissions
2. Submission edits
3. Status change
4. Submission deletes
5. Bulk upload of data

Help video: Connection with Google Sheets

Help video: Connection with Google Sheets and Google Drive

Here are the steps to connect Clappia apps to Google Drive.

1. Open the Clappia app in Edit Mode and go to the Configuration tab. Click on the Google Drive tile.

2. On the right panel, enable the option and click on the button Connect with Google Sheets/Drive. This will take you to Google Account authentication.

3. You will get a Google Sign In prompt. Select your Google Account or and Sign-in to your Google Account.

Click on allow. This will authorize Clappia to write data to the Google Drive and you are done.

4. Now the right panel has been updated with syncing options. On the Configuration tab, click on Show Google Sheets and Show Google Drive Folders option to view the connected Sheet and Folder. Existing submissions of the app will also get sync'ed to Google Sheets and all submission events after this step will also update the Sheet in real-time. The images and files data will start getting sync'ed only for newer submissions. Old images data cannot be back-filled.

Key considerations

1.   Google Sheets can support up to a maximum of 5,000,000 cells. So if a Clappia App has 10 fields, then every app submission will occupy 10 cells and so up to 500,000 submissions will be accommodated in the Google Sheets. The number of supported submissions will keep reducing as the number of fields in the app increase.

2.   On disconnecting the Google Sheets once, the Sheet is deleted from the user's account and on connecting again, a new Sheet will be created. So it is not possible to pause the sync by disconnecting for some time and then connecting again.

3.   If there are any changes in the structure of the app, like field additions/removals, Google Sheets need to be disconnected and connected again. This is because the Header Row of the Sheet gets fixed on the initial connection and it never changes.

4.   If you want to create more sheets that have dependencies on the connected Sheet, it is advisable to do so in a separate Google Sheet, not as a sub-sheet of the connected Sheet. You can use the IMPORTRANGE function to do this. Otherwise you run into the risk of the entire sheet getting deleted if an App Admin disconnects the Google Sheet from the App.

5.   If you are having multiple print templates then only the first one will be synced to the Google Drive folder, as of now.